Be Still and Know

Steven Curtis Chapman’s song, “Be Still And Know” is stuck in my head. This is a lot better than many songs that get stuck there.

Chapman’s lyrics are online and they call to me this morning:

Be still and know that He is God. Be still and know that He is holy. Be still oh restless soul of mine. Bow before the Prince of Peace. Let the noise and clamor cease. Be still and know that He is God.

Be still? How hard is that? Pretty difficult, because I think we’re even moving, twitching, when we sleep. Yet the conscious effort to stop what we’re doing, to pray, read the Bible or simply “be” in his presence can be rewarded with the most joyous, uplifting, fog-dispersing clarity when we resume our daily activities.  To be still and know that He is holy is exactly what I need to do when the to-do list is long. He always sorts out my day. It’s hard to describe how this happens, but it does with regularity.

Physically it’s probably lowered my blood pressure. Emotionally it’s released me from some anxiety because I know I’ve done the most important thing I can do on any day. Mentally it has sharpened my focus — trivial things easily fall off my to-do list. (Also, He helps me prioritize what on that list is important to do for others, not moi.)

Chapman credits two verses for his inspiration, Psalms 46:10 and Zechariah 2:13. The verse from Psalms is more familiar, “Be still and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

Tomorrow I’ll ponder the word exalt. Right now, I am ever so grateful for the time I have had to be still.  And for His help that will get me through the day’s many activities.

Blessings and kind regards to you all.

Leave a Reply

