Heart Matters

School started this week. With it came our daughter’s joy with her new teacher and hopefulness for the year. It also started the nightly tough questions like, “Mom, why are some kids mean and others are nice?”

I wish I had a good answer for her. I gave an honest, “I don’t know, but let’s talk about you.” Then I proceeded to expound on why it’s good to have a soft heart, an open heart, even if it gets squished sometimes. It was the next day that I could pull out from memory  the verse from John 14:1, “Let not your heart be troubled.”

The heart of the matter is the heart itself. In my daily reading this week, in Mark 7, Jesus explains that it’s not what a person takes into their mouths (when the Pharisees questioned the dietary practices of his disciples), but “For from within, out of the heart of men, proceed evil thoughts….All these evil things come from within and defile a man.”

I’ll try not to preach to her. I’ll aim to keep that open heart myself and be mindful of what comes from my heart and makes its way into words. My prayer is that those words to others can be gentle and kind, honest and strong — and delivered with love.

With blessings and kind regards to you all.

One thought on “Heart Matters

  1. I have been reading and enjoying your posts as to how you work the Lord into your daily life. I think all of us need something to hang onto and it seems to work for you.
    You are a good writer and express your thoughts very well – will continue to read & enjoy.
    Thank you, Diane
    Cathy Javaid

Leave a Reply

