Husbands Are Often Right (gasp!)

Yesterday I said that mornings are often best. I’m amending that today — mornings are often the worst.

It started out promising enough. The sunrise was spectacular. It looked like Concord grape juice spilled across a bubbly pink sheet of watercolor paper. I knew the day’s time pressures were ahead, so I remembered Galatians 5:22 and prayed to put on the fruits of the Spirit, “….love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control.”

Good thing I did, or who knows how badly it would have turned out. Our normally morning lark child picked this day to be cranky about everything. In stream of consciousness the negativity spewed forth….the field trip meant that she’d miss music class, the difficult classmate undoubtedly would attack again today, she didn’t want to re-take the math test on Friday (with 90 percent of fellow students), her sports injury was acting up, she couldn’t find her favorite knee brace, the dog wasn’t friendly to her. Egads. All I want to do is have her get herself dressed and get downstairs for breakfast. Trying to get her back on track (and not getting my own morning tasks accomplished) really threw me off.

When I finally got downstairs to say goodbye to my husband I exasperated, “she just wouldn’t let me get down here!” And his annoyingly accurate comment was, “so, did she lock you in the bathroom or chain you to a chair? You let this happen, so you need to do something different.”

Egads, again. No help whatsoever. Until I cleared my head with a woods walk with the dog. He was right, of course (oh, and it is so humbling to recall how often he is right.) I have to do something different and not get sucked into a temporary whirlpool from a pre-teen.

So with the help of the Spirit (and a lovingly honest husband) I’m back on track. And I will do things differently tomorrow. Perhaps I’ll notice the sunrise and remember that the rest of the morning will brighten with the sun (and some family love.)

Blessings and kind regards to you all.

5 thoughts on “Husbands Are Often Right (gasp!)

  1. Thank you for your post Diane…and thanks to your husband for clarity! Far too often we allow ourselves to get sucked into something that exasperates us, when all we have to do is walk away.

Leave a Reply

