Speaking the Truth in Love

At a dinner party many years ago, the host asked us, “why do you two still seem like newlyweds?”  I quickly answered, “it’s because my husband is the only person who can really tell me the truth about myself. He’s the only one who can speak the truth in love to me and I don’t get upset.”

Today, my dear husband still speaks the truth to me. Sometimes I accept it and sometimes I don’t. After all, I’m only human.

There is one voice, however, that can speak the truth in love to me and I unconditionally accept it. Well, after some period of stubbornness, that is. The voice comes from the Holy Spirit. Oh, please don’t stop reading and count me as a lunatic. I don’t actually hear audible words from the Almighty. (I wish I did. It would make knowing His direction for my life that much easier.) Instead, the words come into my heart. They might come from a friend, my husband, a radio message from Dr. Charles Stanley, the women in my Bible study group, or often from reading the Bible during a quiet time. But I know where the message really comes from.

The truth is always there if we’re open to it. This morning, after listening to Dr. Charles Stanley’s radio message, I was struck by something He’s been trying to show me for a long time. As a recent college grad I relentlessly pursued a job at a prestigious magazine and publishing company in Washington, D.C. After a long period of unsuccessful attempts, I gave up, and miraculously the Lord led me to another opportunity with a different company where I happily worked for over 20 years. Now during the past year I’ve been reconnecting with former colleagues at that original coveted company. And there has been no job forthcoming. In fact, when I checked my LinkedIn messages yesterday, I found that one of the jobs I had applied for was filled by a former colleague. He’s someone with impeccable credentials and I’m nowhere in his league. That’s not to belittle myself, it’s just the truth.

This morning, I realized that in addition to speaking the truth in love to me, the Lord has a great sense of humor. Today I have before me an incredible opportunity to develop my own business from home. This is a tremendous blessing because I still have a child in elementary school. Why would I want to repeat a former desire to work somewhere — where they obviously don’t want me — when I have the chance to do something different for a few individual companies? One of which is a group that has a mission to help other unemployed adults like myself? Yes, I think God is laughing at me. In a kind way.

So today, with this course correction, I can hear the truth about myself. It’s spoken in love. And it’s telling me to stop living for myself, and live with the purpose and passion that He has kindly placed before me. The place where I’m supposed to be. Right here, writing to my family and friends, assisting some start-up companies, and guiding others in their quests to learn new technologies to find employment. I hear you Lord, and thank you for the truth given with a dose of humor.

4 thoughts on “Speaking the Truth in Love

  1. Isn’t it sumthin’ when God speaks to you through a radio message? It’s like so much clearer because you don’t see the speaker’s face and KNOW that it’s somebody else saying to you a particular convicting message. By the way, in regards to family members who speak to us the truth in love: my Pops isn’t able to speak anymore after he had a stroke a few years ago. But there was this one day, a few years ago, when I had asked him if a pants I was wearing made me look fat. It was so hilarious to me when he looked up at me (I think he was sewing something) and started nodding his head vigorously. Oh, you just reminded me to write a post about how my sis told me I looked like John Denver. Great post and yup, Dr. Stanley’s a great preacher!

Leave a Reply

