Every Good and Perfect Gift

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” ( James 1:17, NIV)

I’m not big into public displays of emotion. But last Sunday in church, when the pastor offered an unusual suggestion that anyone in need of deep prayers could come to the front altar kneeling rail, I walked there and prayed.

It was my usual prayer with a measure of intensity that somewhat startled me..

“Lord, I pray that you will bring my husband and daughter to a healing faith in you. I pray for their salvation. Please, Lord, if there’s anything you want me to do in this regard, please, please show me the way.” Then, without warning tears flooded my eyes and dripped down my face. In a brief teary, blurry squint toward my hands entwined near my chin, my wedding ring reflected a brilliance from the front altar light that completely filled my vision.

It was a flash. Just a fraction of a moment. Yet that image stays in my mind and makes me think of the perfect light that must be in heaven. A kind of light that none of us have seen. And even in the week’s ups and downs I hold onto the faith that He will show me what to do. That He is present in their lives. That the precious gifts from Him — the husband who appeared in my life after I had given up all hope for marriage, and the daughter, born to us when we were well into middle-age–would not be lost.

He who knows how to give every good and perfect gift will not leave them.

Blessings to you all.

 

Leave a Reply

